A question to the devs: What was hardest part of development?

Im genuinely curious as to what the most difficult part of development of this game, and for a number of reasons. For one, Im wondering why so many devs have steered away from making a game with dinosaurs in it for so long even though a huge part of the collective gaming community has been asking for it for such a long time. Is it the amount of work in the modeling in the dinosaurs itself? The animations work on dinosaurs maybe being too demanding? Balance? Structuring how it would work in fitting and fun environment? Are dinosaurs considered more taxing to program for?

Another reason Im curious is because I just want to hear from veterans of the industry what their biggest hurdles in game development are. I studied and graduated from college learning game design not too long ago, and because Im still such a novice pretty much EVERYTHING in game design is a struggle for me lol (especially since I have to go it alone :sweat_smile:). So usually whenever I go to conventions, or events, Ill usually ask the devs at the booth what was their biggest hurdle in development, and what they loved about it the most.

Everyone has their different answers and responses, but I think its interesting to hear the personal experience of game development behind the scenes. It lets you know just how much people go through in game design, and it helps me personally get motivated in my own design work lol.

5 Likes

Good questions. I’d like to know this too.

1 Like

Let me shoot this over to the dev team :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Hi! I’m Simon Vickers and I’m the Design Lead for Second Extinction here in sunny Malmo and I’d love to add a little bit of my perspective on the matter.